I love G. K. Chesterton. “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing badly.” With those words of encouragement I have decided to give blogging through The Desire of the Nations: Rediscovering the roots of political theology. This is a work that I have been encouraging friends – especially Reformed Christian pastors and teachers – to read and digest. I was turned on to O’Donovan years ago by Wes Baker, a missionary working in Trujillo, Peru. Wes, if you read this: Thank you.

O’Donovan takes one of the foundational teachings of  the Christian faith – the kingship of Jesus Christ – and rescues it from near-total neglect. As I have mentioned, my own denomination has a history of cherishing some applications of Christ’s kingship. O’Donovan explores it to a depth I have not seen elsewhere.

I hope that my summaries, and occasional critical interactions, with this book will be of help to some of you. It is definitely (for now at least) a niche read, and it is in my experience a difficult read. If a few readers take up and read the actual book, my brain strain will have been worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

